Board of Directors

The Board of Directors and Officers have diverse backgrounds in education, aviation, technology, robotics, industry and/or boating. Collectively, their backgrounds comprise the leadership that the organization needs to carry out our STEM mission with youth.

Evan Lewis, Esq. (Board Chair)
Washington, NC

Walter Johnson, Ph.D.-Computer Science (Board Vice-Chair; Executive Committee)
University Math/Computer Science Dept.
Chair and Professor (retired)
Fayetteville, NC

William Griffin (Executive Committee Chair)
Major-Pilot, USAF (retired)
American Airlines Pilot (retired)
Engineering Consultant
Washington, NC

Watsi Sutton, Esq. (Executive Committee)
Washington, NC

Stacy Drakeford (Executive Committee)
Public Safety Director
Washington Police Department and Fire Department/EMS Services
Washington, NC

Priscilla Johnson, Ph.D.-Engineering (Executive Committee)
Microsoft Corporation Program Director
San Francisco, California

Dr. Edna Reid
FBI Counterterrorism Senior Intelligence Analyst (retired)
Asst. Professor, John Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA

Dr. David Loope 
Beaufort County Community College (BCCC)
Washington, NC

Charlie Rose
Chief Deputy
Beaufort County Sheriff’s Department

Beaufort County, NC

Scott Smith
Store Manager/Commercial Pilot License
Lowes Home Improvement Center

Washington, NC

Tom Robinson
Certified Public Accountant
Washington, NC

Tarek M. Abdel-Salem, Ph.D.-Engineering
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Engineering
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC

Matthew Cheeseman (PhD Candidate)
School Superintendent
Beaufort County Schools
Beaufort County, NC